Apple Pie Oats: Crock Pot Recipe #4

Another restless night! Grrrr! I’m not sure why I’ve been having such a difficult time sleeping lately. I wonder if I’m a little stressed about school… Hopefully, tonight I sleep solid since I have to be at 0430 Tuesday morning…
I adore oatmeal! And  I’m a firm believer in “an apple a day.” This recipe combines the two loves! I also have never made oats in a crock pot, but I’ve heard about it for years! This day off was not only the perfect opportunity to try a new crock pot recipe, but also to get dad to eat oatmeal!
I found this recipe here, which Julie adapted from Alton Brown’s Overnight Oatmeal.

Heres the Sammy adaptation:

Apple Cinnamon Crock Pot Oats

2 md to lg apples, finely dicedWP_000849
1/2 cup steel cut oats
1 cup rolled oats
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp apple cinnamon spice
4 1/2 cups water
1 tsp Splenda brown sugar (or 2 tsp regular brown sugar)

Combine all ingredients in a crock pot, toss, and cook on low overnight. Top with whatever you’d like. (serves 4)

WP_000848Nutrition (without toppings):
Calories: 215
Total Fat: 2.8g
Sat. Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 5.3 mg
Carbs: 43.7g
Fiber: 6.7g
Sugar: 12.6g
Protein: 5.2g

Since I had an abundance of apples from my uncle, I chose the two largest and chopped them up. I did not have any nutmeg in the house, so I substituted apple pie spice! Oh my gosh, I had not even added the water and turned the pot on yet and it smelled like a fresh baked apple pie!

Julie was right… it doe look a little funky when you first take off the lid. Give it a good stir and serve it up! It wasn’t sweet enough for

Don't they look so cheery in the morning...

Don’t they look so cheery in the morning…

this family, so we sprinkled some Splenda brown sugar or sugar free syrup over top. My dad and step both enjoyed theirs with just brown sugar. Mom and I topped ours with raisins and sunflower seeds. I also stirred in half a scoop of Herbalife Vanilla Formula 1 to give it a little more sustenance. Since I was determined to get my dad to like oatmeal, I was nervous about him digging in. He liked it! Victory!

WP_000858I was shocked by how much the oats grew over night! It basically doubled in size and each bowl was filled! The apples melted right into the oats. I kept the skin on mine, but feel free to give them a peel.

I decided to do a workout from Julie’s site today, 5×50 Workout. After yesterday’s 1000 Rep Workout, my hamies and tush are pretty sore, so I spaced the 5×50 throughout my day.

Today, I did a little baking, watched some lectures, and ran a few errands to pick up some things before the chill settled in for the next few days. Among some of these things are items for Thursday’s crock pot dinner!

As for tonight’s dinner, in honor of New England Clam Chowder Day, I wanted to have some to warm me up. I discovered that I did not have any, so I kicked it Manhattan style (with a side a Light and Crisp Wasa Crackers)!WP_000863
Speaking of Manhattan, a package came on Saturday!
My girlfriend, Meaghen and I are both extreme foodies! I went to visit her in Brooklyn back in December and I wound up bringing home food more than anything else. As we discussed some of our favorite finds, we realized their are things in DE you can’t get in NY, and things in NY you can’t get in DE. We decided to start a food exchange. I shipped her out a box a while back, and Saturday I got a goodie box, with a cute little letter! Among the items included were:

  • dark chocolate covered espresso beans (from the coffee shop she works at),
  • Divine Organics Gojiberry Brittle
  • Indian-style Lentils and Beans
  • Artisana Walnut butter (since she knows I’m a nut butter freak)
  • Hateva Sugar Free Vanilla Almond Pudding (she knows my love for Sugar Free)
  • King Sobe Organic Buckwheat Ramen
  • Biscolinos Coconut and Cacao Nibs

WP_000850

I ate an espresso bean this morning (since I woke up so darn early), and wow! They were the best I’ve ever had. The Biscolinos I had to take a nibble of. It reminded me of the raw food truck Meaghan and I ate at in Brooklyn. I was like a less chocolate-y Almond Joy. I bought some Dunkin Donut Mocha Mint Coffee and I can’t wait to enjoy these two together! I’ve never had Buckwheat noodles, but I’ve contemplate buying them many times! I’m already brainstorming meal ideas! Knowing my love of fiber, you had to have known I was excited about the beans and lentils. Any recipe suggestions? The brittle wasn’t bitter like some dark chocolate and the Gojiberries added the most mild sweetness. I’m very excited to try the pudding! I’ve had soy pudding before and wasn’t a huge fan, but I’m most definitely open to this!

Thanks so much Meaghen! I miss you and can’t wait to see you!

I’m spending the rest of the evening watching “Ted” with my dad, followed by some studying, and light strength training.

One thought on “Apple Pie Oats: Crock Pot Recipe #4

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Challenge Recap | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

