Some Like It Hot: ChiliJamb: Crock Pot Recipe #3

The following was inspired by this recipe from Wholefoods. I had some chicken sausage that I did not particularly care for, is it was, so I wanted to use it in a creative way. Because of the flavoring and seasoning of the sausage, my goal was to create a sweet and spicy combo. The final results weren’t exactly what I had planned, but tasty and filling, nonetheless, with the sweet n spicy combo I intended. It was kind of like if chili and jambalaya had a baby…

             

We like spice in the Bundo house, but my mom and stepdad don’t particularly care for the heat. Like I said, “Some like it hot;” especially me!

Sweet n’ Spicy ChiliJamb(alya)
1/2 cup dry quinoa
2 cups water
2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 package (5 links) Thin n’ Trim Peach Chipotle Chicken Sausage, cut into 1/4in coins
2 cups kale, packed (about 50g)
1/3 cup dry black beans, then cooked (or 1 can of black beans)
1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp Pineapple Salsa (I used Trader Joe’s), plus more for garnish
1/3 cup frozen corn
1 cup onion, chopped (about 4oz)
1 (4oz) can fire roasted diced green chilies
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1 Tbsp cajun seasoning
dash salt

Toss onions, chilies, garlic, and seasoning in a pan. Cover and cook down. Throw all of the other goodies in the crock pot. Cook on low. Once the onions start to become transparent, throw into the pot, and cover until din-din. Stir and divide among 6 bowls. Top each with a bit of the pineapple salsa, for bit of sweet, and enjoy the sweet n’ spicy stick to your ribs chilijamb!

           

Calories: 150
Total Fat: 2.8g
Sat. Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 14.1mg
Sodium: 328.7mg
Carbs: 18.8g
Fiber: 1.4g
Sugars: 2.1g
Protein: 12.1g

Its a shame I didn’t make this yesterday in honor of “International Hot and Spicy Foods Day!”

I’d like to continue to experiment with this recipe because I feel like it has a lot of potential! I think sliced okra would be a nice addition. What are your suggestions? 

PS for you spice lovers: Did you know spicy foods speed up your metabolism?

One thought on “Some Like It Hot: ChiliJamb: Crock Pot Recipe #3

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Challenge Recap | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

