White Turkey Chili Crock Pot: Recipe #2

The past two days, I’ve slept till almost noon! I don’t know why I’ve been so sleepy!
I woke up still in a slight funk, but not as funky as yesterday. To get the ball rolling, I made a smoothie bowl, a little trick Julie taught me! The magic bullet was stuffed with the following:

2 oz frozen diced apples
1 (6oz) container Chobani Fat Free Apple Cinnamon Greek yogurt
1 scoop Herbalife Vanilla Protein Drink Mix
a handful of kale
1 tsp ground flax
1/4 tsp xanthum gum
sprinkled with some apple pie spice

Voila! A yummy apple cinnamon supper smoothie bowl and a bottle of green tea!
(please excuse the messy coffee table)

While checking my email the other day, I came across a link to this recipe. I figured, “Why not crock-pot-it?” Yes, I invented a new verb:

Crock-Pot-It: ˈkräk-ˌpät-‘it
crock pot: used for an electric cooking pot
it: expresses a condition or action without reference to an agent
crock-pot-it: an action in an electric cooking pot

See how that worked?  Tehehe   🙂

I’ve never had white chili before so this was an experiment, as well. It happened to work out that my mom had cooked a turkey and was pawning off some meat onto me… I didn’t argue.. lol

I prepare everything the night before and in the morning added the broth and turned that baby to low. Since it has been so overcast, chilly, and rainy, I figured chili would be an appropriate warm-me-up.
                                    
I, of course, made some Sammy-Tweeks. Such as using 1 (4oz) can of fired roasted diced green chilies and 1 (4oz) can of chopped green chilies. Oh, and I used a can of low sodium cannellini beans, instead of dry beans. I also decided to add 2/3 cup of frozen white sweet corn for some much needed sweetness and consistency.

                            

Since I woke up late, I started the crock pot around noon and ate around six. I prepared everything in the pot before I went to sleep last night and added the stock when I turned on the heat, so the beans wouldn’t fall apart. When I got home from class today, the house smelled so good from the cumin, clove, and peppers! The “chili” was more like a turkey soup, though. Either way, it made my belly warm on this chilly day and helped make my sick dad feel a bit better 🙂

Please enjoy the following:

White Turkey Chili
makes 6 servings

  • 1 can reduced sodium cannelini beans
  • 3 cups turkey stock
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 medium onion (about 5oz), chopped (divided)
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, stem and most seeds removed, chopped (about 1oz)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • Pinch of ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 4-ounce can chopped  fire-roasted green chilies
  • 1 4-ounce can chopped green chilies
  • 2 cups diced cooked turkey (about 8oz)
  • 2/3 cup frozen white sweet corn
Combine beans, turkey, garlic and half the onions in a crock pot.
Spray a skillet with some non-stick cooking spray and cook chopped jalapeno and remaining onions. Add green chilies and seasonings and mix thoroughly. Add to bean mixture in the crock pot.
Cook on low for how many hours you’d like. Add the corn 30 minutes before serving.
The original recipe recommends different garnishes for this. My mom and I topped ours with fat free shredded mozzarella and some crumbled saltines. My dad used an Artisian cheese blend on his, along with some wheat saltines.
I had a some leftovers, too!
After plugging all of this into MyFitnessPal, I was super impressed by its stats:
for 1/6 of the recipe
Calories: 129
Total fat: 0.2g
Sat. Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Carbs: 15.9g
Fiber: 4.2g
Sugar: 2.4g
Protein: 13.6g
4 thoughts on “White Turkey Chili Crock Pot: Recipe #2

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Challenge Recap | Be Well Bundo

  2. Pingback: September 13 | Be Well Bundo

  3. Pingback: Chili(y) | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

