Venison Crock Pot: Recipe #1

I woke up in a major funk this morning! I hoped that a protein shake would help brighten my spirits a bit. My dad got me a big bag of Welch’s Four Berry frozen berries. I wanted to use some of my new sunflower butter to see how that would work in a shake but then I remembered I bought this little nifty cashew butter packet from Artisana the last time I was at Wholefoods:

I figured, “Hey! Berry on berry!”

Cashew butter isn’t like normal PB. Its so much smoother and creamier and the berry flavor is so light.

I still couldn’t shake the funk and heading off to class did not help…even though this is my LAST semester!

Apparently, the birds weren’t pleased with me either…

My car was completely bombed!
Okay… now onto the food:

So over the winter break, while visiting some family, I learned that my uncle hunts. My aunt offered me some venison, and never having cooked it, I gladly accepted the challenge. I scoured the internet for some recipes until I found one that my dad really wanted to try. Then I did a little research on preparing and cooking this roast. The followed this recipe and added some tweeks of my own… and thus this deliciousness was created!!

Creamy Onion Venison
serves 10

2 1/2 lbs venison
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 can Fat Free Cream of Mushroom soup
1/4 cup red wine
1 Tbls low sodium soy sauce
1 (1oz) package dry onion soup and dip mix
7 oz (large) onion
1/4 cup water
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
3 1/2 oz sliced raw mushrooms

Remove as much fat off the venison as possible. I learned that the more fat, the more gamey-er the taste. Cut a few slits into the roast and stuff with the minced garlic and lay at the bottom of the crock pot. Cover with sliced onion and drizzle the sauces.Sprinkle in the dry onion mix. Pour the soup in a bowl. Pour the wine in the soup can and swirl around to get as much soup out of the can as possible and pour into the bowl with the soup.Repeat with the 1/4 cup of water. Mix the ingredients in the bowl and pour over the roast and onions. Cook  on low from morning to dinner time.
30 minutes before serving, add the mushrooms.

We ate this stroganoff-style, over noodles. I’m a HUGE fan of House Food’s Tofu Shirataki Noodles. I prepared the fettuccine style noodles and topped with 4oz of meat and some of this deliciously light gravy.

My dad, and even my picky  step-dad went to town and raved about this recipe!! Enjoy, ya’ll!

PS          The next crock pot recipe I’m doing is also one I have never made before: White Turkey Chili.
Some recipes add corn and/or tomatoes, both of which would probably taste great in this… What are your thoughts?

One thought on “Venison Crock Pot: Recipe #1

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Challenge Recap | Be Well Bundo

Leave a Reply

