Hope Springs (Jan 12, 2013)

Hope Springs” was not what I expected. I thought it was supposed to be sort of a comedy. It was much more serious. Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones play a married couple who have lost their spark. Streep’s character pays for a couples counseling getaway, where they meet Steve Carrell, the marriage counselor. Tommy still delivers his dry humor, which I love so much, and Meryl, as always is purely fabulous!
Since Meryl and Tommy are two of my favorite actors, some of the scenes were a bit awkward for me to watch ie. the oral sex scene…
Yeah… thats a visual of those two I never thought I’d see…

Overall, the movie was outstanding! I’m not going to tell you anymore because I don’t want to ruin it for you. I think this is a movie which older couples would benefit from watching.

I finished off my night, lying in bed with my cat, Bunny, and dog, Beauty, watching “Finding Nemo.” I don’t care how old you are, you are NEVER too old for “Nemo.”

I had a pretty rough time sleep last night. I couldn’t get my brain to shut down. I think its because I’m a little nervous about going back to work today, since I’ve been out on medical leave for the past 6 weeks.

I woke up later than planned this morning, around 10:15am. I immediately laced up my sneaks and took a jog to the Walgreens to return “Hope Springs” to the RedBox.

When I got home I was really in the mood for french toast. I’m big a fan of stuffed french toast. Usually, I use ricotta, but today I wanted to try something new. I used a slice of Pepperidge Farm 7 Grain Carb Style bread, which I sliced in half. One one side, I placed about an ounce of sliced apple; on the other half, a tablespoon and a half of Lactaid Low Fat Cottage Cheese (I’m not lactose intolerant, but I’m in love with the creaminess of this brand! Theres no other like it!). I topped the cheese with half a packet of Nevella (just like Splenda, but with probiotics) and some apple pie spice.

I used 2 tablespoons of liquid egg whites to form the coating and into the pan it went. The trick to any stuffed french toast is to ensure that the edges are well  coated so that the goodness is sealed in! Using cottage cheese made this a little difficult… and messy… but still oh so good! I finished it off by sprinkling the remainder of the sweetener over top.

It turned out a bit like a grilled cheese  🙂

Cottage Apple Stuffed French Toast
1 slice bread, sliced in half for form two slices
1 1/2 T cottage cheese
1 packet sweetener, divided
1 oz apple, sliced
apple pie spice
2T liquid egg whites

The remainder of my day is going to be spent burning off some nervous energy, then its off to work…

 I wanted to keep things simple for dinner at the hospital tonight so I opted for Lean Cuisine’s Lemon Grass Chicken. I bulked it up with some Mann’s Broccoli Slaw.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

